A Bumpy Ride

Something I have always wanted to do but honestly have been too scared/nervous to do is  to buy a mountain bike and actually pursue biking.  I’m a runner and have been for over 20 years which means that I like my feet on the ground and like to have total control. However, about a month ago, my husband and I decided we wanted to find a hobby that we can do and get better at together, so we both got new bikes. Biking scares the you know what out of me because I don’t know what I’m doing and there are so many other factors that play in to riding that are out of my control. So we have been building my confidence by riding the streets in our neighborhood and riding the Greenways near by.

Well, today we decided that it was time to take that huge leap outside of my comfort zone and hit the mountain biking trails. We headed out to a hidden gem in Raleigh, Harris Lake. Not going to lie, my heart was beating pretty fast as we entered the parking lot and started on the beginner trail.

iphone pics life after running 240 iphone pics life after running 239

The beginner trail provided plenty of roots and rocks to practice getting comfortable riding over. There were several spots that were such a tight turn that if you move just an inch the wrong way, you were for sure either hitting the tree or falling off or maybe both. 🙂 Therefore, I took it nice and slow.

iphone pics life after running 242 iphone pics life after running 244

 

After riding the beginner trail twice, I was feeling pretty comfortable and decided to try the intermediate trails. Another step outside of the comfort zone. Well let’s just say it was a bit more challenging and technical than the beginner trail. I learned how important it is to trust yourself and the bike you’re riding. There were times where I felt I should brake because there was a tree coming up or a root, but that’s when I learned that it was easier to pedal through that part and face it head on.

Kind of like life, sometimes there are obstacles that pop up and I am so quick to put my brakes on and analyze how I’m going to get through it and it takes FOREVER and sometimes I don’t even face it. When really all it takes, is belief and to keep pushing through head on as fast as you can no matter how hard or scary it is. Don’t get me wrong, there may have been a few curse words that flew out of my mouth and a doubt in my mind, but I pushed through and learned why it was so important to keep going.

There were some incredible views while we were on the trail, we made sure to take the time and enjoy those views.

iphone pics life after running 245 iphone pics life after running 246 iphone pics life after running 249

 

So grateful for my patient husband who was an awesome coach. We had a blast and I honestly wanted to keep riding, which I guess is a good sign.

iphone pics life after running 247

What are you going to do to get out of your comfort zone this weekend?!

 

Leave a comment