Day 5: Life lessons learned on the road

4:00 am came awfully early this morning and I had a very hard time falling asleep last night so needless to say all I really wanted to do was stay in bed. However, I remembered that I wasn’t the only one in this fight so I put one toe after another onto the ground and got my butt up. That doesn’t mean I was in a good mood though. Definitely feeling a case of ‘I woke up on the wrong side of the bed.’

As we drove to the starting point for the day, I was still feeling real grouchy. It was one of those moments where you just want to break down and cry. So I gave myself one mile to cry and let it all out, but once I hit that mile mark it was time to dry those tears up, suck it up, and remember why I am doing this. I definitely felt better.

Today was dedicated to all of the incredible people who have come into my life after college. My Tahoe friends who taught me how to truly appreciate the outdoors and extreme sports as well as living out of my comfort zone to become a better person. And all of my NC friends who I have met the last 5 years. You all taught me how to get out of my comfort zone and enjoy the little things in life. Love each of you for making me who I am today.

iphone pics Day 4 MSRUS 053

The day was by far one of my most favorite days I’ve ever run. The temperature was in the upper 60’s lower 70’s, very low humidity, big puffy clouds, and a nice wind blowing. At one point, I almost put on my long sleeve shirt, but I didn’t want to jinx it so I just walked/ran a bit faster!! There were some awesome rolling hills for most of the day!

iphone pics Day 5 023 iphone pics Day 5 034

Dad was here for another day of biking and running when he could; therefore I had more time for running along, so I used today as a day to reflect and be grateful. I thought about all of the lessons I have learned about life, running, and my body after 5 days of this incredible journey.

Here are some of the lessons I have learned over the last 5 days:

1. Sometimes you just have to experiment with things to see if they work. My stomach has been pretty upset the past 2 days during and after running. The thought of eating another protein bar or gummy makes me feel sick. So one of my crew members, Kendra, suggested that I may be eating too much. After experimenting throughout the day, that did the trick. I was eating too much, who would have thought. haha Kendra saved the day and my stomach!!

2. Stop to talk to strangers. I met Pepper today after she came running at me with all of her teeth showing. I thought for sure my leg was going to get bit. Turns out she just wanted some lovin. She looks a lot like our dog Sierra!!

iphone pics Day 5 016

We finished at a golf course and were telling two men what we were doing. They each donated $20. It was pretty incredible.

3. Take some time to stop and smell the wild flowers. There were a ton of wild flowers on the side of the road which reminded me of my Nanny. Whenever we go hiking together, she always knows all about the wild flowers. Thanks for running with me today, Nan!

iphone pics Day 5 027

4. JT and I scoutin out the port o’ corns. We found some good ones today. They were a bit shorter than the other days!! JT was definitely by my side today. Thanks buddy.

iphone pics Day 5 029

5. Sometimes you just have to look at life in a different perspective. As dad and I were running, we stopped for a stretch break and took this picture upside down!!

iphone pics Day 5 040

and right side up!! iphone pics Day 5 042

6. Dad taught me all about the difference between hay and straw and how to tell in the fields. I also learned that there is a different smell between pig, cow, and chicken manure. Quite frankly it all smells like shit to me. 😉 It was definitely intriguing to hear day share his knowledge of growing up on a farm. I think I’m ready to be a farm girl. hahah NOT!!

7. Dad set a new PR. On our last 4 mile walk he was able to collect and hold 15 cans all at once. It was a big day for Toddo. He tried to get me to help pick them up but I knew if I bent down there was no getting back up.

iphone pics Day 5 058

8 Sometimes the hardest part is taking that first step. I am one of those people who has to have everything planned out exactly how it needs to happen, have everything packed (with lots of snacks;)), get flustered when I think that it’s not going to go exactly how I want it to go. Therefore, I don’t always take that first step. Well sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith and trust that God has your back and will put wings on you to fly. I was drained today both physically and mentally today so it took everything I had to take that first step. And yes it was insanely painful and I might have made some pretty crazy noises, I just kept putting one foot in front of the other. Taking that step after the 15 mile mark was not as easy so I decided to listen to my body and walk the last 11 miles and enjoy the AMAZING day.

iphone pics Day 5 039 iphone pics Day 5 036

I am exhausted so time for some rest but it’s incredible to think that Day 5 and 130 miles are complete. 2 more days and 47 miles. So excited because my husband will be here to run/bike with me all day tomorrow. You all keep me going and get me out of bed in the morning. Love to you all.

2 thoughts on “Day 5: Life lessons learned on the road

  1. You are awesome and an incredible role model. Good luck on the rest of your journey….xoxo cousin amanda

Leave a comment